Ryde Rowing Club has celebrated a successful season at the club’s annual presentation dinner.

At the event – held at Yelf’s Hotel, Ryde, where the Club was founded in 1877 – Club Captain Pete Allsopp welcomed the members and guests and thanked them for attending and for their support of the Club over the last year.

Special thanks was also given to the club’s main sponsor Wightlink and a further special thank-you to guests of honour – Ian Hill and his partner Faye Gayle of Solicitors Churchers Bolitho Way – who supported the club’s fundraising efforts to purchase a new minibus. They also presented a cheque to the club for £500 during the evening.

Ryde Rowing Club chrurchers-presentation

Following a presentation on the club’s 2016 achievements, which included two crews being selected to represent the Hants and Dorset Amateur Rowing Association at the South Coast Rowing Championships and Hants and Dorset ARA Championship wins in the Men’s Novice Single Sculls and Ladies Novice Fours, Ian Hill helped rowing Captain Mick Jenner present the awards.

The Coxswain’s Cup was awarded to Allan Evans, with the First Year Oarsman Trophy going to Joe Evans-Murray and the First Years Ladies Trophy being awarded jointly to Ayesha Russell and Kristy Newnham.

Joel Smith was awarded the Oarsman of the Year with Catherine Murphy receiving the Ladies award. The Coaches Cup was awarded to Karen Crook, while the Committee Cup went to Andy Toms. Dave Redstone was awarded the Captains’ Cup. The traditional ‘First Hants and Dorset ARA Win’ club spoons were awarded to Kristy Newnham, Lisa Murphy, Ayesha Russell, Catherine Murphy, Abi Locke, Julie Cole, Kate Whitehurst, Karen Crook, Dom Douglas, Jacob Redstone, Joel Smith, Joe Groves, Henry Gove, Joe Evans-Murray.