Isle Of Wight Council Names Its New Leading Councillors

Councillor Dave Stewart, the leader of the Conservative Group, has been named the Isle of Wight Council’s new leader.

Councillor Lora Peacey Wilcox (Independent) was voted in as Chairperson, when the authority met tonight (Wednesday) for the first time since the election earlier this month.

Meanwhile, the Conservative group (which holds 25 of the 40 seats on the local authority) also holds all leading roles in the Cabinet:

Cabinet portfolioPortfolio holder
Leader and Strategic PartnershipsCouncillor Dave Stewart
Deputy Leader and Resources 1Councillor Stuart Hutchinson
Infrastructure and Transport 1Councillor Ian Ward
Children’s ServicesCouncillor Chris Whitehouse
Regeneration and Business DevelopmentCouncillor Wayne Whittle
Adult Social Care and Public HealthCouncillor Clare Mosdell
Planning and HousingCouncillor Barry Abraham
Environment and HeritageCouncillor John Hobart
Community Safety and Public ProtectionCouncillor Gary Peace
Procurement, Projects and Forward PlanningCouncillor Michael Murwill