The Isle of Wight’s sporting achievers are celebrating success tonight (Thursday) after the annual accolades were handed out at Medina Theatre in Newport.

The Isle of Wight Sports Foundation has been congratulating a host of movers and shakers, in sports as diverse as swimming, shooting and triathlon.

Scroll down to hear from some of the winners…

See the ceremony for yourself here…

Who were the winners?

The Outstanding Contribution award went to Liz Bell who has worked tirelessly to give asthma sufferers the confidence to try exercise. Many of her swim students have gone on to compete at the Island Games.

Tennis star Rusty Howell was named the Junior Boys winner. He has gone from strength to strength winning singles and doubles matches across the south coast.

The winner of the Intermediate Girls award was Daisy Faithfull, who won the National Indoor Rowing Championship and is Hants and Dorset Ladies Junior Sculls. And she has trained at the GB Training Camp in Spain.

The Disability Intermediate Award was lifted by Joshua Phillips, who has qualified as an FA Coach level 1, despite having autism and ADHD. He has also played with the Saints Foundation Disability League, in a European cup match in Vienna, Austria.

The Intermediate Boys winner was athlete Henry McLuckie, who won the Hampshire League and Hampshire Championships last year. He also won bronze in the 3,000 metres at the Hampshire Track and Field Championships and overcame a fall to win a steeplechase Gold medal.

The Senior Men award went to golfer Jordan Sundborg. He was the first Island player to win the Hampshire County Championship since 1930, beating the Hampshire team captain in the Match Play final. He holds the Stoneham Trophy and holds a world ranking of 546.

The Senior Women award was handed to runner Charlie Metcalf, who hasn’t let having three children get in the way of her running ability. In the Sandown-Shanklin Seafront 10km race, she beat all but the top four men. And she won her category at the Royal Berkshire 10km.

The Disability Senior Award went to diver Matthew Davis, who has cerebral palsy, epilepsy, dyspraxia and an autistic condition. Despite the odds, he could walk at the aged of five and these days he’s diving from 5 metres, inspired by Tom Daley.

The Master Men award was won by runner Peter Young, who boasts an impressive set of winning statistics and is nationally ranked in the top ten in the 5km, 10km, 10 miles, 5 miles and half marathons.

The Masters Women winner was Kath Bright, who is currently competing in her shooting discipline for England at the World Championships in Australia.

The Junior Team award went to the Newchurch U11 Girls Football Team, after a year in which they became champions of the Hampshire Tournament and ended up competing in the National Finals in at the home of Stoke FC.

The Intermediate Team Award was lifted by sisters and rowers Daisy and Emily Faithfull. They have dominated the competitions in Dorset and Hampshire this year and have only been beaten twice this year!

The Senior Team Award was won by the Ryde Rowing Club Coastal Ladies Junior Squad, who are south coast champions in their group.

The Disability Team Award went to the Caulkhead Strollers Walking Football Team – who finished league runners-up.

The National/International Award was won by Zac Lacey, who has previously won an Isle of Wight Radio Child of Wight Award. The swimmer set a new record for the Junior Down’s Syndrome 100m butterfly and took numerous medals, including Gold, this year.

The Island Games Award went to Shelley Moss who, along with her sister Imogen, helped bring back six medals at the games.

The Island Games Team Award was won by the swim team, which managed 59 PBs and numerous medals.

The Primary School Award was won by Newchurch Primary, for its amazing array of sport and encouragement to all children.

The Secondary School Award went to Sandown Bay Academy, which leads in tennis as well as offering a host of other sports.

The Coach Award went to a former Isle of Wight Radio Local Hero – John Cattle, for his passion for teaching the Isle of Wight how to skateboard.

The Volunteer/Official Award went to sailor Duncan Bates, who leads Project Swan, designing and building a dingy for blind and disabled sailors.

The Sportsmanship Award went to Darren Cole and Dr Hafiz Aladin for the way they helped a fellow competitor after a collision at the West Wight Triathlon.  Dr Aladin stopped to give first aid, while Darren directed traffic.

The Service to Sport award was given to Ray Scovell, who runs the Medina Parkrun and trained scores of Island athletes. A popular winner, he has also scooped an Isle of Wight Radio Local Hero award.

Hear from some of the winners…