J Palin, R Kinsley, and A Rowe.

None of the Isle of Wight’s speedway stars secured a podium finish yesterday (Tuesday) – but it was still a night to remember in Ryde.

Smallbrook Stadium welcomed the best of the sport’s young talents for the British Under-21 Semi-Final.

Isle of Wight Warriors’ Chad Wirtzfeld and Connor King lined up for the event.

Ryan Kinsley.

The former had a nightmare start, touching the tapes and earning a disqualification before picking up two third places. But, he saved his best until last by passing former Warrior Jamie Bursill for a second place.

While, King also had a difficult night despite a battling show. Two falls whilst trying to pass opponents and a good pass in heat nine meant just one point on the night.

Scunthorpe rider Ryan Kinsley claimed victory. A faultless six ride maximum secured top spot on the podium and he was joined by Jordan Palin (Belle Vue) and Anders Rowe (Somerset/Kent).

Kinsley made his intentions clear right from the off. His winning time of 70.4 seconds in heat one equalled the fastest time of the season at Smallbrook and his quick starts and obvious speed saw him well set for a rostrum place.

Joining him on the podium was Jordan Palin on his first visit to Smallbrook. He rode confidently and stylishly as did Anders Rowe who demonstrated great progress.

Warrior’s co-promoter Barry Bishop said:

“What a great night for our club and my thanks go to all our staff and volunteers who helped present this meeting in the best possible light. My thanks also to Wightlink who have been superb in supporting not only this event, but all our activities.

“On track we saw that the future of British speedway under the stewardship of Neil Vatcher is alive and vibrant. All the riders rode with maturity, dedication and enthusiasm and whilst our Warrior riders may not have registered big scores, they will have gained massively from the experience and we now look forward to team action starting next Thursday with Mildenhall here in the National Trophy”.

Qualifying Scores:

Ryan Kinsley 12, Anders Rowe 11, Luke Ruddick 8, Nathan Ablitt 8, Jordan Palin 7, Jordan Jenkins 7, Jamie Bursill 5, Alex Spooner 5, Chad Wirtzfeld 4, Ben Woodhull 3, Connor King 1, Joe Alcock 0, James Laker (reserve) 0.

First Semi-Final: Kinsley, Spooner, Ablitt, Jenkins (fell).

Second Semi-Final: Rowe, Palin, Ruddick, Bursill.

Grand Final: Kinsley, Palin, Rowe, Spooner.