Six candidates have thrown their hats into the ring to become the new councillor for Whippingham and Osborne.

Five parties have put forward electorates – with one independent also standing

However, the Isle of Wight Green Party says it will not put a candidate forward because 16-year-old Cameron Palin – their “strongest” option – is too young to stand.

As previously reported by Isle of Wight Radio, the by-election has been forced after Labour Party’s Julia Baker-Smith stood down a year after she relocated to Manchester.

East Cowes-based Luisa Francesca Hillard is Isle of Wight Labour’s choice to replace her.

Stephen Hendry, also of East Cowes, is The Conservative Party’s candidate. Whereas, the Liberal Democrats has nominated Julie Ann Burridge.

Karen Theresa Lucioni, from Ryde, is standing as a candidate for the Island Independent Network.

Cowes’ Rose Lynden-Bell is UKIP’s choice – and Michael Paler, of Whippingham, will stand as an Independent.

Speaking about its decision not to put forward a candidate, a spokesperson for the Isle of Wight Green Party said:

“16-year-old Cameron Palin, Campaigns Officer for the local party and a student at Cowes Enterprise College, is blocked from standing for election merely because of his age.

“Cameron has been heavily involved in challenging the Council on their mismanagement of the East Cowes Floating Bridge, the campaign to save the Ice Rink in Ryde, and has been a committee member for IW Pride for the last two years.”

Cameron has called on the voting age to be lowered:

“It would have an absolute honour to stand for the Green Party in the Whippingham and Osborne ward, however, our electoral system has let us down once again!

“We must… allow young people like myself to stand for office, as there is a sheer lack of diversity of age, sex, race, religion and culture in elected office at all levels – whether on a parish council or in Parliament.

“Young people’s voices are typically ignored and suppressed under this electoral system.”

The Whippingham and Osborne by-election will be held on 20 June.