The Isle of Wight ‘Wightlink’ Warriors speedway team take to the track for the final – and all decisive – National Trophy meeting tomorrow (Monday).

The Island side travel to Sittingbourne to take on the Kent Kings – a fixture that will determine which team lifts the 2019 title.

Against many pundits’ expectations, the Island side have battled very hard to set up the possibility of silverware but the home side will go into the meeting as favourites.

Whilst the Wightlink Warriors are full strength, the Kings will still be without injury victims Alex Spooner and Dan Gilkes and will also miss the services of Jordan Jenkins who is taking exams on the day.

In his place, Kent have brought in Plymouth’s Richard Andrews for a guest appearance.

Warriors co-promoter Barry Bishop was under no illusion about the task ahead. He said:

“After last Thursday I’m thrilled that the Warriors have a chance to influence the outcome of such a prestigious meeting. I know the Kent riders and fans will arrive in confident mood, but we have a plan and with former Kent riders Ben Morley and Danno Verge in our side, plus Georgie Wood’s affinity with Central Park we will go out to put on a show and do our best to make everyone connected to the Warriors very proud.”

Also attending tomorrow night’s showdown will be the National League’s speedway supremo Jason Pipe, who said:

“I’m really looking forward to travelling down to Kent from my North East base this coming Monday to present the National Trophy to the winners of this mini league. As a neutral, I’m hoping it goes down to the very last race on Monday evening.

“I’m so pleased to see that this has gone down to the very last meeting of the competition. Before the competition started, many fans were predicting that Kent would walk away with this Trophy, but thankfully for the good of the Competition, it hasn’t turned out that way!”


Kings: Drew Kemp, Rider Replacement for Alex Spooner, Anders Rowe, Richard Andrews, Rob Ledwith, Jacob Clouting and Nathan Ablitt.

Warriors: Georgie Wood, Chris Widman, Ryan Terry-Daley, Danno Verge, Ben Morley, Chad Wirtzfeld and Connor King.