Pic: Sportography

The Wightlink Warriors speedway team will be racing at Smallbrook Stadium in Ryde from April 2020.

Promotional duo, Barry Bishop and Martin Widman, emerged from a National League A.G.M. to confirm that the Island club will continue racing in the third tier of British Speedway alongside six other teams.

It will be the fifth successive season under Barry and Martin.

The 2020 teams will be Armadale, Belle Vue, Isle of Wight (Wightlink Warriors), Kent, Leicester, Mildenhall and Plymouth.

The National Trophy and Knock out cup competitions have been retained and some exciting format amendments – put forward in part by the Island club – are being proposed for the Trophy competition.

Warriors will meet Leicester in the Knock-out cup.

There will be an early season round of the British Under 21 Individual Championship and, in a huge honour for the club, the National League Pairs Championship has been allocated to the Island on a summer date to be confirmed. The possibility of a Saturday night staging is being actively pursued.

Speaking after the A.G.M, Barry said:

“I’m very pleased to confirm that our award winning Warriors will again be an integral part of the National League and we are already planning a full season of weekly action.

“Sadly, we have lost two clubs from last year (Cradley Heathens and Stoke), however it is fantastic to welcome an Edinburgh based team at our level and it will be a great delight to take an Island side north of the border in search of league points.

“With the increased points limit also coming into operation, we will be accelerating our team building work whilst paying close attention to the ongoing needs of the Wizards in the Development League.”